Uk Newbie question

davemcwish

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been covered before - I've just joined so don't have the search facility.

After debating this for a while and trying to get my head sorted over other issues I've decided to give in to my long held desires and start wearing heels. For those that are interested I'm looking at Oxford's and boots although I came across these:-

http://www.lovemyshoes.com/products2.cfm/id/25630/item/-------by-CARRINI

and was strangely attracted....unfortunately I'm too big being a UK 8-8.5 :-(

Anyway onto my qtns...

There's plenty of conversion tables but do I need to factor in a difference as I'm wearing heels - if so what ?

Secondly can anyone recommend any retail stores that I could go to that does heels in large sizes (I'm in Essex). As I'm just starting out I feel that I need to try first.

Final question, I've see some comments that heel choice can be dependent on an individual's figure. Can anyone send me a link that explains this. For what it's worth I'm average male height but slim (5'10" 140lbs).

Thanks.

Dave

Hi Dave! and welcome to HHplace!

Browse around the forums a little bit, you will find lots of threads about sizing and style selection.

Basically you are going to find that sizing is a little bit indeterminate, it tends to vary a lot depending on manufacturer and style. The best way to determine the proper size is to try the shoes on -- which is a complication for those of us who order online. If you order online, deal with a vendor who has a generous return policy -- a lot of them do because they realize the sizing problem is such an issue.

Styling is more a matter of personal preference and the image you wish to adopt -- and to a large extent, how much you want to "push the envelope". Blocks and wedges are a little more conservative, while stilettos are more avant-garde. Again, look around -- we talk about this stuff all the time.