IP Address Banning

Before I begin, I would like to once again congratulate our forum's administrators and moderators - you're among the best in the business! This post is in no way whatsoever directed towards you or this board. Rather, it is my intention that it be used as an eye-opener for system administrators everywhere, hopefully so that they and Sun (makers of Java) can come up with a viable solution to this problem.

Thank you for your hard work - all of us really enjoy being here!

On with the post...

As a networking security consultant, I take very strong exception to the practice of IP banning. It's not a good practice, for several reasons.

Here's what happens: A user violates a board's rules, is warned, keeps violating, and is banned. The vast majority of bb software out there, including pbpBB, uses IP tracking to identify a user. This, direct from phpBB's website:

Easy to Use Administration Centre

- Extensive ban management, ban by email address, username or single/multiple IP address or hostname

- IP tracking of posts and posters

The administrator clicks the "ban user" button, and the bb software no longer allows anyone with that IP address to log on. Some software won't even allow the user to see the page!

Everything's fine, right?

Well, no. The administrator didn't really ban the user - he banned an IP address. Anyone who uses it, now or in the future, will no longer be able to access the board - and most Internet users today do not use static IP addresses!

That's right - the days of static IP addresses are long gone. Ever heard of DHCP? It was standardized more than a decade ago (Oct, 1993) under RFC 1541, and was revised four years later under RFC 2131.