The Importance of Self-Confidence

JeffB

Not that I'm an expert at this topic, espeially since others here have probably been at it longer than I, but if you're going to take the bold step of wearing women's shoes out in public, it's important, no, crucial that you have self-confidence. You can't afford to be timid when it comes to something like this, if you are, then you'll never make it. Period! I've been told that I have self-confidence since I was bold enough to wear red patent pumps in public last week. Well, that's true. For me, it's equal amounts of confidence and apathy regarding the public at large. I knew going in that I would face plenty of scrutiny when I wore ANY color shoes that were associated with women, but I wasn't going to let that deter me. It was what I loved to do, and if people couldn't handle it, well, that was THEIR problem, not mine! Sure, I've been giggled, snickered and chuckled at, I've been called rude names regarding my sexual orientation, all sorts of derogatory stuff, but I kept on doing what I wanted to do. Life's to short to sit on your hands and let the world go by. It took a long time to develop my self-confidence, that feeling of defiance, that I was going to wear what I wanted, when I wanted, and no one was going to stop me. And you can do that too. In the end, the only force that can stop you IS you!

I don't want to LOOK like a woman, I just want to DRESS like a woman!

This applies to anything one may do in appearance that is out of the norm defined by their society. If you are different in one way or another you stand out from the crowd. If you are condifident you perform the look succesfully. A little of "the devil may care" atttitude always helps. It takes a strong individual to stand out, as it is not "if" it "is" you will be a target of other's scrutiny. Many may not be able to get past your differences which is their choice. Those who get to know you will be glad they did.

classic style high heel boots