Truth in Jest?

sscotty727

I've always heard the term "Truth in Jest" and have always felt there is alot of fact in that. This past Friday, the Federal Government had off as a holiday because of the recent events. Since I work as a consultant, we had to work and got permission to be onsite. During the week I joked how we could really dress down since customers won't be here and I made a comment on how I would just show up in a bathrobe and slippers instead. Well, one of my coworkers said "Oh we don't really want to see you in a dress and high heels". I have been wearing my 3" block heels for a while now and wondered if maybe he was making a stab at that. What do you all think? Also now that I think back, I have noticed a subtle difference in people's attitude towards me (warm and friendly before, more reserved since I have been wearing the heels). I was just curious of your opinions and if any of you had anything similiar happen to you. Scotty

its possible they may have noticed but arent gutsy enough to comment. I think if someone at our wore something i might not agree with myself, i probably would just keep my mouth shut, but my opinion of that person may change slightly because maybe i didnt imagine them in that way. An example of that would be a lad who i sed to knock about with at school, i recently bumped into him and hes a full goth. It was the last person i wouldve expected to be. it might be the same with you. Also theres all the laws of the workplace re discrimination, people may not wanna offend you. Our manager was saying something the other day that if one of the lads wore a skirt to work she would have to accept and not say anything about it as she would get into trouble. just my thoughts, but who knows daz