Seriously Thinking About Making Shoes...

As the thread title really...

I am seriously thinking about getting into making shoes both for male and female.  

Nothing mass scale, not to make money and will not be taking orders from any one other than my wife(!).  

I guess this has come out of the sheer frustration of my wife sat in shoe stores for years being unable to find any shoes that fit her properly...they are either too narrow or too large or small and whilst the options remain limited, they are also far from appropriate for daily work wear.

I dont anticipate this to be something that by next Sunday I'm a fully skilled and fledged Cordwainer with 6 pairs produced, this is something that I want to do as a hobby, something that I will enjoy doing to take my mind off life's troubles when I feel like it.

My background is engineering, I have craft knowledge and experience as well as carpentry skills and an eye for detail.  I also have a workshop...  :happy:  

I understand the basic challenges and construction and no doubt will face many more challenges during the process of learning, however I guess the initial question is does anyone have any advice or pointers (looking at you Dr.Shoe?!  :cool: ), websites, tips or material suppliers etc?

Cheers...

My advice would be to go on a course to learn how to do it properly.

However:

Step 1: Get a pair of lasts made to fit your wife. The easiest way to do this is to get a pair of shoes that fit her comfortably and fill one with plaster of Paris (i suggest lining it with a plastic bag) and sending the cast off to a last maker. http://www.springline.net/ this is the UK's premier last maker. They can also make bespoke lasts for you, POA.