Style mistakes (faux pas)

fastfreddy2

Faux pas ......

These remarks are addressed to people living in the UK alone. I have no experience of those living outside the UK, except some short term experience of other Europeans, so my remarks are about us Brits only.

I was pointed at this post very recently:

I wonder sometimes if guys in here understand that it's okay to by fashionably imperfect. Think Kate Moss.

Something is almost always off--messy hair, mismatched accessories, wrinkled shirts. YET, she always looks amazing.

You don't have to be ready for a photo shoot to go out in the world and wear high heels. You don't have to perfectly imitate the rebelliousness and raunchiness of the Rolling Stones to look good. Nor do you have to perfectly imitate The Sex Pistols' spiked leather jackets, torn stockings, and pierced bodies.

Your look can't appear staged...It has to look effortless.

So where do you begin? Have you ever been inspired by someone who walked into a room or down the street, that you had to take a second look over? Confidence captivates people.

I'd say begin with confidence that you respect yourself in heels, love yourself in heels, and dress for yourself and nobody else. Have you ever seen a 6' tall woman in stilettos? I have. And I was "wowed", because she had a great attitude.

I think style is being confident about who you want to be and going out and seeking inspirations for that. It could be people from your childhood (my mom always wore blazers), from your travels (Parisian effortless elegance in heels for me please), art (look at YSL's Mondrian dress...YSL took Mondrian's idea and fitted it to the female form), music (in the 90's Marc Jacobs saw Cobain in a plaid flannel shirt...then bought a $2 version of it on St. Mark's Place, had it shipped to Italy, and had the plaid pattern made into silk. And the birth of the high end version of "Nirvana" ensued).