Life as it is and not as it should be.

One of my most favored comments about life comes from the movie: "Man Of LaMancha". Don Miquel Cervantes (Peter O'Toole) along with his sidekick Sancho have been imprisoned for putting on a play the Inquisition leaders of the area deemed inciteful and a heresy against the church. While in the confines of the dungeon, Cervantes convinces the other prisoners to let him put on this play with them as part of the cast as a way of telling them why he is there. One of his personal views is given in a response to why his character in their play "Don Quixote" couldn't face reality as it is. He begains by saying: "Life As It Is". I've lived for over forty years and I've seen life as it is. Pain, Misery, Cruelty beyond belief, I've heard the voices of God's noblest creature, Moans from bundles of filth in the streets. I've been a soldier and a slave. I've seen my comrades fall in battle or die more slowly under the lash in Africa. I've held them at the last moment. These were men who saw life as it is, but they died dispairing. No glory, no brave last words, only their eyes, filled with confusion, questioning why. I do not think they were questioning why they were dying, but why they had ever lived. When life itself seems to lunatic, who knows where madness lies. Perhaps to be to practical is madness, to surrender dreams may be madness, To seek treasure where there is only trash, to much sanity maybe madness. The madest of all is to see life as it is and not as it should be. We all need strength from time to time, to get pass the manmade realities of life that have natural consequences. We can't give up who we are, no matter how much we want things to change into our favor as we see the reality of the big picture. I often ask in my mind "where and how does all this fit?" and "why can't others catch this same vision of reality?" Then I come back into focus and realize we are all individuals with our own way of dealing with life's issues a