Advice on beginning with high heels!!

hckyplyr123

I am new to high heels and like them very much. Anyone know what is a good height to start with?? Also what is a good way to get use to wearing them other than practicing?? Anyone have any advice on what I can do. What do others do when starting out??

Hi hckyplyr123 and welcome aboard! As for starter height, go with something you can wear comfortably for a period of time. Most of we guys, blessed with largish feet, can easily handle a 3.5 to 4" heel with very little difficulty. You will have to try a few different heights to find out. If you try to start out with six-inchers you will be miserable and will probably give up. There are a few threads around here about foot stretching -- some of that may work. I am of the opinion that extended wear is the best exercise. Just wear 'em and don't push yourself too hard. If you don't have any heels yet, look around for some of the sizing threads too. Shoe sizing is a bit of a black art -- an 11 from one line may be too tight while a 10 from another line may be too loose. And that's if they are both US Womens -- there are UK sizes, European sizes, Chinese sizes and a few other sizing systems too. Conversions between them don't always work well. As for what most others do when starting out, most of us get a pair of five or six inchers and immediately start prancing around - - - poorly. Then we come here and find out what we are doing wrong. Spend some time browsing around here -- there are a lot of threads going back for several years. There is an enormous amount of information here.

Have a happy time!

Welcome, hckyplyr123!

As a fellow forum member who is fairly new to heels, I would suggest starting with no more than 2-3 inches, so you can adjust to the feeling and way of walking in heels.

If you need a good source for shoes, look no further than http://www.zappos.com.