Shoes in Jewelry?!?

Jezebel

I just wondered about everyone's opinion on this.. I am an art student at California State Fullerton University, where I take classes in jewelry. I have been throwing around the idea of doing jewelry with 'shoe' images. I have done pieces in the past with corsets as my basis of designs, and I felt it was time I incorporated shoes into my jewelry designs. I work out of silver, and use flat sheet of silver and wire, manipulated various ways to make pendants, bracelets, rings, etc. Right now I am working on a corset compact but want to do some 'heel work'...

So many shoes, so little time...

I pay for all my materials but I can use the large machines at school for free. We have many good machines; a sandblaster, hydraulic press, kiln, roller printing machine, ect. I did have to purchase my own small tools though, like hand saw, pliers... After we are done making anything, we keep it ourselves. Our work is photographed and archived in our university's art department, but after that we keep it. Sadly, in our theatre department, costuming majors have to make costumes for classes and do not get to keep anything. We have huge rooms filled with costumes just rotting away on hangers. That would make me sick to spend so much time on something and to have to give it to the school.

surely they should sell some of the items to increase funds for the department or allow the student to purchase their own work at a reduced price. Sorry, just reminds me of a forgotten warehouse where everything is for show only.