Self-Defence

Many of you may not be aware of this, but I'm a self-defence instructor. I posted the following on another board, and am including it here for your edification: Question: If I were to look into the purchase of a firearm for personal protection, what would you suggest? Personally, I've always been partial to a 9mm as having good power without excessive size. Answer: For close-quarters hand-to-hand combat, nothing beats a sword [the guy's original posted referenced that he was "heading to the ren faire.") In less time than it takes for your opponent to unzip a belly pack you can pierce his heart. Then again, there's a reason the handgun is the weapon of choice, not the sword, and the difference in the training required to be effective isn't it. The .357 magnum shell will shock you, and her, in it's explosive power. But it's what's required to stop your opponent. Numerous studies have shown a 9mm doesn't do nearly as well. So long as you can point, shoot, and defeat your target, you'll beat any ninja on the plant. The problem is that most ninja can cover 40 yards in about 5 seconds, which happens to be the same amount of time it takes a well-trained concealed weapons-carrying individual to go from expression of danger to pulling the trigger. The bottom line is that when faced with a master of all weapons, no weapon will save you. However, when faced with an untrained assailant, a firearm can indeed give you a distinct advantage - provided you don't rely upon the firearm itself to get you out of the jam. I know many ladies who've mastered the .357, and carry the weapons in their purses. They can accurately rattle off six rounds in less than 4 seconds, and that includes the time it takes them to draw the weapon from their purse. Then again, they're trained, which brings to mind another point: No weapon is effective without training, and that includes guard dogs. With training, however, most weapons, no matter how inconceivably ridiculous (including chairs,