Am I Weird?

kikepa

This is only somewhat a rhetorical question. Personally, I think I'm one of the most down-to-earth guys I know. I have long hair, pierced ears, and hold a TS clearance with background checks to like when I was nine. I've been sponsoring kids overseas for nearly two decades, I enjoy playing chess, meeting new friends, hanging out with old friends, hiking/backpacking/camping, music (I'm learning to play guitar), photography, I prefer the company and companionship (dating/marriages) of women. And I enjoy wearing heels and skirts, but not as a fashion statement. I'm simply more comfortable in these. Only two of the few women I've talked to about this get it and accept me for who I am. The other seven made the sign of the cross or said "OMG you're a freakin' pervert!", shook their heads, and elected to no longer be my friends - and one was a 20+ year friend! The last was two years ago, and I've gotten over it, so this is not a rant. I'm simply wondering why some things are so damned ingrained into our society as somehow "taboo" that most people would choose to ditch a friendship rather than simply laugh and say, "Oh, that's funny! Do you really? I don't love you as a friend any less" much as the two who've accepted me for who I am and what I prefer to wear. So - is most of society really that shallow?

Those who really care about us don't make a fuss about what we wear. Those who make a fuss about what we wear really don't care about us.

Well - yes and no. A LOT of society is that shallow - but not all.

Unfortunately, as with many things in life, you only find out who your real friends are when they are confronted with something that challenges their own predjudices. It's far, far easier to criticise or condemn someone else, than it is to rethink your own ideas about things.