help on type of high heels

trevor

i am thinking of buying a new pair of heels. they are red patent 5 inch platform pumps. they are called indulge. if you google red patent indulge platform pumps it will come up. im wondering if anyone has purchased these heels in red or black. i know when they list 5 inch that its usually based on like a size 7. i need a size 12 or 13 so i think the heels will be higher. also im wondering if they run small. i have a size 11 foot and i bought 5 inch pumps with the double ankle strap in a size 12 and they were ok. im not sure if i should get these in 12 or 13. i was hoping the heels would be like 51/4 to 51/2 in height also because they have a platform of 1 inch. if anyone has an answer i would appreciate the help. this is my first time here. thank you

Trevor -

First Welcome to the forum!

T-strap-lover’s comment about the platform reducing the heel height might be misleading. I’m sure the pump has at least a 5” heel but the platform raises the ball of your foot so they feel like 4” heels. Although I don’t care for platforms myself, this might be a good compromise for a new heel wearer.

There is a big difference between having your heel 4” above the ball of your foot and having your heel 5” above the ball of your foot (and a HUGE difference in having your heel 6” above the ball of your foot). Most first time heelers can manage the 4” height without a problem and then work up to the 5”.

As for size, it varies from manufacturer to manufacturer and style of shoe (my experience is only on boots). I wear men’s 11, a 14 in Pleaser’s and Ellie’s, a 12 in Payless. A comfortable fit may require a larger size in a higher heel which is why T-strap-lover commented that the 5” heel on a 1” platform is really a 4” pump.

Generally the conversion between men’s and women’s US size is women’s size is man’s size plus two. I would be inclined to try the size13. :smile:

Enjoy your heels.

:thumbsup: