Material and Manufacturing of high heels

odbrenda

Hello,

I hope I'm in the good topic... I'm a student in Engineering and I'm working on a project about manufacturing high heels at the moment. In order to carry through this assignment, I would like to know some stuff like:

1) Of what are actually made high heels? I'm particularly in 2 types of high heels...

a) Classic wear high heel boots:

Posted Image

:-? Stiletto heels:

Posted Image

I think that stiletto heels are made of a metal rod surrounded by polyamide. But I know nothing about the heel from a classical wear boot...

2) Do you have an idea of the manufacturing of these heels?

3) Do you know where I could find data about the number of stilleto heels made a year? The price of the heel? All these economic data...

If you have any tip, any information that could help me, please, feel free to tell me! :silly:

Thank you very much for your help! :unsure:

Coincidence, I too am an Engineer :silly: (what field?)

Regarding your questions:

1a-quite probably the same plastic stilettos are made of, covered by a decorative polymeric sheet.

1b-you're right, metal inside and polyamide outside (in the photo). But you could also glue, on top of this, the same material the rest of the shoe is made of (swede, leather) to obtain a matching appearance.

2-for the stilettos in the pic I suppose injection molding, as well for the wear boots. Check this out too, http://giuseppezanottioutlets.com/2011/01/05/the-manufacturing-process-of-handmade-high-heels/

3-Nope, sorry.

Can you see the real me, preacher? Can you see the real me, doctor? Can you see the real me, mother? Can you see the real me?